Reality is a lovely place, but I wouldn’t want to live there.

This blog has been a sense of encouragement for me at times.  I try to tell myself that I can really accomplish what I want, and that the goal I’ve set is attainable.  But to be honest, I get discouraged often. 

I set a goal to enjoy my family, work less, and live well years ago.  Only in the past couple years have I realized how I could make that happen.  But it’s a struggle to get where I want to be.  I don’t want to spend time doing things I don’t like.  I work full time (40hrs+) for a cable company, but I wish I didn’t work so much.  I work for the man, but I wish I worked for myself.  I’m with my wife and son at night, and on Sundays, but I wish I was there more.  I take vacations, but I just wish I had more time.  I recycle, and have my own garden, but I wish I lived more sustainably.  I don’t think these are bad goals to have.

I personally find it frustrating to continue the lifestyle I’ve got when I’ve dealt with it for nearly 4 years.  I know others have done it for 20 years, but I especially don’t want to do that.  I want to get on the right path to my goal, asap.  I am complaining, but I am actually just a bit perplexed on what to do.  I have a family to provide for, and student loans to pay back.  I can’t just up and do an internship doing what I really want to. 

I’m one of those people who say you can do anything you want, if you just commit to it.  But I think growing up thinking that, I wasn’t familiar with ummm….BILLS.  I’m not saying at all that my goals aren’t attainable, I just don’t know how long it will take to get there, and that’s frustrating when I want to be there now.  Maybe it’s the teenager that’s left behind in me being impatient.  I’m not sure he realizes it’s already been 7 years since he graduated high school. 

So what’s your intention from here on out?  Luke, don’t just leave me hanging with your drudgery of a post!

Ok, ok dear, dear reader, with your obnoxious questions that I put in your mouth. Push up your glasses, and I’ll let you in on a secret.  My wife and I just talked about getting a plan together and doing a 9-month “lets get the efffff out of carolina” plan.  We both have to have jobs.  We have to have seen the city we want to live in(we almost moved somewhere w/o seeing it…oops).  We’re thinking west coast.  She’s always loved Washington state.  I’ve been to Seattle, and it was cool.  But we’d have to live somewhere in/outside the suburbs.  I hate cities so bad.  This doesn’t mean there aren’t lots of confusing details about where to go next.  I’m still boggled.  But this is what we’ve got so far.

That’s the plan.  I hope I didn’t kill your mood.  But I gotta be honest, and I’m not a floating bubble of pink fluffy emotion every day.  Just on Sundays.

This concludes the post.  Stay classy, world.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reality is a lovely place, but I wouldn’t want to live there.

  1. cdndirtbags says:

    I think it’s good that you express your discouragement, along with your hopes and joys. Everyone gets discouraged from time to time, sometimes it feels like it’s running too long a course, but it always comes around if you stay the path. My motto for years has been “I don’t believe in the impossible and it doesn’t believe in me.” But that doesn’t mean I don’t walk around swearing some days. 🙂

    • Luke Anthony says:

      🙂 Thanks for that. “Running too long a course” is what it seems like often. I do have to realize that these are long-term goals.
      A ship w/o a destination gets nowhere, but a captain who knows which star to sail by, will get to where he wants to be. So by the fact alone that I have a goal, it should work out!

Leave a Reply

